Client server model

Vishal

07 Oct, 2015 01:06 PM

Hi

I am new to arachni. I want to implement arachni in following way. Basically it is a client-server model. A remote client submits url (to be scanned) to the scanner server and server will scan the requested url and notify client once the scan is over. So i would like to know how can i use Arachni for this scenario?

Thanks for your time.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Tasos Laskos on 07 Oct, 2015 01:28 PM

Hello,

You can do this, except for the server notifying the client, the client will need to poll for scan progress, see: https://github.com/Arachni/arachni/wiki/RPC-API

Cheers

2. Tasos Laskos closed this discussion on 07 Oct, 2015 01:28 PM.

3. Vishal re-opened this discussion on 07 Oct, 2015 01:40 PM

4. 2 Posted by Vishal on 07 Oct, 2015 01:40 PM

Thank you Tascos and you have done amazing work. Congratulations for that. I went through RPC API and i am wondering if there is any way to authenticate client?

5. Support Staff 3 Posted by Tasos Laskos on 07 Oct, 2015 01:49 PM

You can setup auth using SSL certificates; SSL will be used regardless, but without any sort of peer verification by default.

Client -> Dispatcher communications are not restricted, hence if you need to authN/authZ you'll need to go the SSL way.
    Client -> Instance communications are authenticated by specifying a token for each request; that token is provided by the Dispatcher along with the other Instance info as a response to the #dispatch call.

If you're interested in something more conventional like username/password type auth I'm afraid you'll have to RYO.

6. 4 Posted by Vishal on 07 Oct, 2015 01:58 PM

In that case , i should go with SSL way. Can you throw some light on that?

7. Support Staff 5 Posted by Tasos Laskos on 07 Oct, 2015 02:21 PM

The handling of the SSL files is pretty generic, you basically need to focus on the following options for the Dispatcher: